Ashimov Asanali

Ashimov Asanali


Artistic director

Hero of Labor of Kazakhstan Republic in 2017. Winner of State Prize of USSR in 1974. National artist of USSR in 1976. National artist of Kazakh Soviet Socialist Republic in 1980.

Born in the village Zhailma of Sarysu district of Zhambyl region in 1937, 8th of May.

He is theatrical and movie actor of Kazakhstan and Kazakh SSR, theatrical and movie director, theater educator, professor.

The President of Kazakhstan Theater Association.

He graduated from the theater department of the Kazakh State Conservatory named after Kurmangazy, on a specialty of drama theater actor, and was admitted as an actor to the studio "Kazakhfilm" 1956-1961.

He was invited to an actor troupe of the Kazakh State Academic Theater named after M. Auezov in 1964.

From 2014 up to this days A.Ashimov works as Artistic director of of Kazakh State Academic Drama Theater after M.Auezov.

Roles in the theater:

M.Auezov «Abay» – Kerim,

M.Auezov «Enlik–Kebek»– Kebek,

M.Auezov «Kara kypshak Koblandy» –Aishuak,

M.Auezov «Morning echo» –Zharasbay,

G.Musrepov «Kozy Korpesh–Bayan Sulu» – Kodar,

K.Mukhamedzhanov, Sh.Aitmatov «Ascent to Mount Fuji» – Joseph Tateyvich

W.Shakespeare «Julius Caesar»– Julius Caesar,

M.Frisch «Don Juan, or love to geometry» – Don Juan,

A.Nurpeisov «Blood and Sweat» – Yelaman,

I.Vovnyanko «Disaster»– Asan,

G. Hauptmann «Before Sunset» – Dr. Clausen and others.

Roles in the movie:

«Wings of a song» – Kaimen,

«Kyz Zhibek» – Bekezhan,

«The end of Ataman» and «Trans-Siberian Express» – Kasymkhan Shadiyarov,

«The Messenger» – Karazhal,

«Bread's taste» – Director,

«Kazakh story» – old man Omirbay,

«Who are you, Mr.K?» – Mr.K,

B.Mansurov's serial movie «The saga of the ancient Bulgars» - Genghis Khan and others.


G.Musrepov «Amangeldi»,

I.Orazbayev «Is there a poison that I didn't drink?»,

Zh.Aimauytov «Akbilek»,

Gogol «The Government Inspector»,

N.Hikmet «Farkhad – Shyryn»,

I.Vovnyanko «Crime and punishment», others.

Movies directed with «Kazakhfilm» studio:

«Year of the Dragon» (1981),

«Shokhan Ualikhanov» (1985),

«Sagebrush» (1986),

«Kozy Korpesh–Bayan Sulu» (1992),

«House at the salt lake», others.


Hero of Labor of Kazakhstan, 2017,

Laureate of Independent prize «Tarlan Platinum», 2000,

Chevalier of the Order «Otan» 2001,

Laureate of the festival «Stars of Shaken», 2003,

Commander of the Order «Parasat», 2007,

Commander of the Order «Kurmet», 2007,

Medal of «10 years of Anniversary of Astana», 2008,

Winner of medal «Merited figure of Art» by Ministry of Culture of Kazakhstan Republic, 2012,

Commander of the I grade Order «Dostyk», 2014,

Medal of «25 years Anniversary of Kazakhstan Independence», 2016,

Medal for procuring National Security,

Several times Chevalier of the Scholarship of the first President of Kazakhstan Republic,

Several times Chevalier of the Scholarship of Ministry of Culture and art of Kazakhstan Republic.

Rewards of Kazakh SSR:

Honored artist of Kazakh SSR,

Laureate of the State Prize of the Kazakh SSR, 1973,

Laureate of the State Prize of the Kazakh USSR, 1974.

National artist of Kazakh Soviet Socialist Republic, 1976,

National artist of USSR, 1980.

Medal for «Veteran of Labor» of Kazakh SSR,

Several times Chevalier of movie festivals of Kazakh SSR.

International rewards:

Commander of the Golden Order named after Lomonosov in Russian, 2007,

Laureate of the International Prize «Star of Friendship» and Order «Star of Friendship» by CIS, 2011,

Laureate of the National Prize «Legendary Person», 2013,

Commander of the UNESCO International Academy Order «Golden Eagle», 2007, for making great contribution in World Cinema.

Honorary titles:

Honorary citizen of several regions and villages of Kazakhstan,

Honorary citizen of Zhambyl region, 2002,

Honorary citizen of Almaty, 2015,

Honorary citizen of Turkistan region, 2017,

Honorary citizen of Sarysu region,

Professor Emeritus of several universities of Kazakhstan,

Honored Worker of Educational System of Kazakhstan Republic,

Golden medal of Women's University «Ulagat», 2015,

Laureate of the National Theater Prize by Kazakhstan Theater Association «Sakhnager–2017», «For great contribution in development of Kazakh theater», 2017.